• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

advice on cipher modes

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> General Security Discussion

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Prads
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:31 pm    Post subject: advice on cipher modes Reply with quote

Hello,
I am a student, finished my A Level and am thinking about doing Computer Science in college. Anyway, I thought it would be cool to create a small freeware (possibly open source) program in my free time so I decided to make a password manager program in C++ that can generate and save the password in encrypted database. For encryption algorithm I have chosen to use Blowfish. I wrote the code for blowfish and tested it with the test vectors in Bruce Schneier website and it worked correctly.
Now for implementing it in my project, I have a question. I researched more about cryptography on the internet and found out about cipher mode of operation. In my program, passwords are kept in a data structure:

Code:

struct passwordData {
 string password;
 string remark;
};

password contains strings of random character (assuming user won't use common words as password) like "%^T=t0LO8>" and remark contains some description about password like "My gmail password".
Now here's how I thought I would encrypt that data. Let's assume we have 2 passwords to encrypt, I would put the passwords in unsigned char array in this way:

(1st Password)(Remark)(2nd Password)(Remark)(some random padding bytes if needed)

then I would encrypt it and put it in the database. After my research, I found out that this method was called ECB mode of operation (am I right? lol).