• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Search | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

Forensic Computing Degree

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Computer Forensics and Incident Response

View previous topic :: View next topic  
onintks
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:19 am    Post subject: Forensic Computing Degree Reply with quote

Hi i am thinking of doing a uni degree next year and have been offered a position in the forensics computing side, currently I'm doing software engineering and just wondering what jobs, money and career prospects there is within computer forensics.

Thank you
virtue
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert on it... yet...

But I'm taking computer forensics right now. I love it.
You would be working with encase and FTK (forensics toolkit software).

Also on an interesting side note, linux can effectivly be used to forensicly acquire data.

Jobs
Alot of jobs are contracted to Local, State, and Federal Law Enforcement. It is a wide spectrum.

Money.
No clue, but it is a very very specialized field. Low quantity, high demand is my theory.
The_Real_Gandalf
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

market rules apply also here...

You will be able to find a job depending on your skills. Digital forensics is a job which demands true dedication and thorough actions , as to establish a solid case.

Just a hint here... Forensics is associated to the whole vast area of IT , but also to physical security and human psychology. Search for "witnesses courses" and several books on physical security which i take is quite uknown to you.