dissertation on encryption

Networking/Security Forums -> Cryptographic Software and Hardware

Author: sheryl89 PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:07 pm    Post subject: dissertation on encryption
    ----
Hey all, Im new to this and need some serious help!! Would be very grateful if anyone can. Ok...I am doing a BSc(Hons) in Computer networking and doing my dissertation at the moment. My dissertation is on network data security but my main focus is encryption. I need some help though. I am looking for some good encryption software to test. I know there is loads out there but I just aint exactly sure on what to do with it to test it. How would you test these packages apart from simply creating a file and encrypting it? Also are there any packages anyone can recommend or any sites? I have a presentation on Tuesday 2nd March also and I really need to have something to talk about and have some results. I hope someone can help. Thanks.

Author: TDSincLocation: Florida PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:23 am    Post subject: Crypt testing?
    ----
Hi Sheryl,

Some good encryption programs you can consider are PGP, RSA, and TrueCrypt. But you need to be more specific as to what you mean by 'testing', before I can offer any useful advise. For instance, do you need to:

1. test which programs run most economically? (Usually Elliptic Curve applications tend to be more economical).

2. test which programs have been around the longest, so seem to be most reliable? (both PGP and RSA would do)

3. Most secure? This gets very subtle -- it's not just a matter of key size, but depends on many other factors (for instance: RNG quality, key entropy, symmetric, asymmetric, or hybrid encryption)

Author: sheryl89 PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:51 pm    Post subject: cryptic testing
    ----
Hi, thanks very much for getting back to me.